Our History

The Origins of the Greensborough Junior Football Club

The origins of the Greensborough Junior Football Club are closely linked to the origins of junior football in the Diamond Valley area.

In 1964, Greensborough Football Club President and All-Australian footballer, Joe Murphy, initiated the introduction of junior football to the Diamond Valley area. In 1966 and 1967 Greensborough fielded one Under 15 teams in the now disbanded Preston / Reservoir Junior Sunday Football League. In 1966, the Under 15′ lost the Grand Final to Watsonia (coached by Harvey Stephens) by two points at the old Greensborough Park oval. The inaugural year Under 15 captain was Alan Brennan. In 1967 the Under 15’s went through the PRJSFL season undefeated, and beat Montmorency in the Grand Final (coached by Jim Hodgson) by 4-5 goals at Fitzroy’s old Brunswick Street oval. The coach of Greensborough Under 15’s in both 1966 & 1967 was Laurie Brimacombe, who also played as second rover to his twin brother, John, in both Greensborough Football Club’s senior A Grade Premierships of 1966 and 1967.

In 1968 the Colts and Rovers eventuated under the auspices of the Diamond Valley Football Legaue. Four Greensborough Under 13 sides, known as the Blues, the Blacks, the Golds and the Maroons, together with two Watsonia teams and one Montmorency team formed the Greensborough Midget League.
In 1968, the administration of junior football was handed over to the DVFL, and the competition commenced as we know it today, with senior teams fielding Under 15 and Under 13 sides.

Greensborough Junior Football Club has a proud history in the Diamond Valley Football League  /  Northern Football League with the following list of premierships:

Under 17: 1969, 1970, 1972, 1974, 1988, 1989, 2008, 2009(x2)

Under 16: 1980, 1983

Under 15 Girls:  2015

Under 15: 1968, 1969, 1970, 1973, 1995, 1996, 1998, 2002

Under 14: 1977, 1978, 1985, 2001

Under 13: 1970, 1975, 1996, 2005, 2015

Under 12: 1976, 2006, 2009, 2016

Under 11: 1974, 1975, 1994, 1996, 2005, 2006, 2011, 2013, 2016

Under 10: 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2008, 2009

The Joe Murphy Trophy

Joe Murphy came to Greensborough from Fitzroy in 1954 as Captain-Coach and won the first of two DVFL Best and Fairest awards in that year.

From 1955 to 1958, he was Captain-Coach of Latrobe Football Club in the NWFU in Tasmania. He represented Tasmania in the State Carnivals and won All Australian selection. Returning to Greensborough in 1959 to set up his legal business, he was Captain-Coach of the 1960 and 1961 premiership sides, and won his second DVFL Best and Fairest award in 1961. Many observers regard Joe Murphy as the best player ever to play DVFL football. Following various positions on the Greensborough committee, Joe was Club President from 1966 – 68, and was the instigator of junior football in the area.

Everybody connected with DVFL football was saddened by the passing of Joe at a comparatively young age on June 7, 1985 from a terminal illness. In 1986, as a tribute to the vision of Joe Murphy, the Greensborough Junior Football Club created a perpetual award known as the Joe Murphy Trophy. It is awarded annually to the junior footballer(s) that the committee considers the most outstanding for that year. Considerations include services to the Club both on and off the field. A shield is displayed in the clubrooms, and the player is presented with a trophy.